About Us
In June 2006, a consortium of academic professionals, businesspeople, PK-12 educators, Chambers of Commerce and government was formed in response to a challenge issued by U.S. Sixth District Congressman Bart Gordon. Congressman Gordon, Chair of the U.S. House of Representatives Committee on Science and Technology called for a coordinated effort to bring technology-based ideas and concepts forward to be developed, tested and introduced to the marketplace, all in order to create jobs and expand economic development. Congressman Gordon offered the assistance of his Committee on Science on an ongoing basis to aid in this effort.
More than 40 representatives began meeting monthly to talk, review resources, share information about current technology-based projects, attend additional related conferences and meetings, and determine the best way forward. During this discovery period, the group, chaired by businesswoman Andrea J. Loughry, functioned under the name of Middle Tennessee Technology Council and was staffed by the Rutherford County Chamber of Commerce. Oak Ridge National Laboratory awarded a grant to the consortium for the development stage.
In February 2007, the consortium held a day-long visioning forum, from which a nine-member Task Force was formed.

M2M Task Force Members:
  • Andrea J. Loughry, Retired Business Owner
  • Dr. Leslie Wisner-Lynch, Biomimetic Therapeutics
  • Elliot Dawson, Bioventures, Inc.
  • Tom Ballard, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Holly Sears, Rutherford County Chamber of Commerce Economic Development
  • Jerome Terrell, Tennessee Valley Authority
  • Susan Elkins, Tennessee Technological University
  • Dr. Don Daniel, University of Tennessee Space Institute
  • Dr. Robert Carlton, Middle Tennessee State University Astronomy & Physics

In September 2008, the first Executive Director of Mind2Marketplace, Sandy Ponder was hired. The board of directors was formed in early 2009.

Board of Directors:

  • Chuck Shoopman, Assistant Vice President, UT Institute for Public Service
  • Tim Choate (Chair), President/CEO, Bondware Inc.
  • Faye Johnson, Asstistant to Provost, Middle Tennessee State University
  • Patrick Geho, State Executive Director - TSBDC at MTSU
  • Lonnie Hearne, ContextLogix Inc.
  • Brian Robertson, Director of IT for Rutherford County Government
  • David Hannah, Microsoft Enterprise Executive Leader for Tennessee
  • Paul Jennings, UT Center for Industrial Services
  • Rosemary Owens, MTSU Coordinator Strategic University Partnerships
  • Janie Robbins, TTU EPRD, Associate Director, Southern Region

Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: